Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 8 of 13 1 2 6 7 8 9 10 12 13
hat-trick
hat-trick
Quote:

How many times have I heard......that the number one responsibility of the referee is player safety?

I'm not sure how you relate the described activities by a "patron" and "so called Adults" to player safety. The referee can't, and is not supposed to, control the behavior of the fans. If activities that are dangerous to players threaten to spill onto the field (like throwing stadium chairs), the referee can stop play until the administrator (or security or police) restores order. As a referee I have had to stop play when spectators' actions disrupted the game. I simply told the coach that the game would not recommence until he or the site administrator stop the behavior or removed the people causing the disturbance.

bench
bench
Totally agree Big Daddy. If you are known for being an "aggressive" team and cards were issued, then refs should look closer. How can ANY REF within eyeshot not see a girl picked up and slammed??? Should I be teaching this to my 9 year old soccer team that it is part of soccer or did the refs decide to let it play out despite a the smallest player on the field flying thru the air. Did you think she was gearing up for a bicycle kick??? I am baffled how a ref can miss it and not to mention how a ref can get on a public forum and say a team was whining. Isn't that a conflict of interests, you ref a game, then rip the team afterwards. I hope you are not assigned to Clover anymore since you have a preconceieved notion about them.

hat-trick
hat-trick
Quote:

I don't agree that the referee is exempt from controlling off field behavior. I have seen referees stop games and threaten parents with expulsion for persistent abusive language. And it was the right thing to do.