Shearer -- thanks for the kind words. Since you asked, and since there is speculation out there on this thread since you posted this, I’ll be glad to tell you the odyssey that led me to these postings and let you know who I am. However, I’ll warn you up front – this will be a long, and probably very boring, post in which I take you through the personal trip that got me to where I am.

I actually am no one in the Columbia soccer scene; I just have a daughter (Kira Campbell) that plays for ODP-90 and the Lexington United U-13 and before that played for the Lexington Amazons (the team that won the challenge cup state championship in 2001 in their division). I took the screen name “Shibumi” from a book I read some years ago; it’s a Japanese term and doesn’t mean anything in this context other than I liked the book. I wasn’t trying to hide my identify; I just thought that my identity wasn’t very important.

I've been studying Columbia soccer for a few years now trying to understand it. In my posts, my few critical words are for the Lexington club – in particular the girls club. This isn't personal; in fact, I'm extremely thrilled with the Lexington team my daughter plays on and I believe her current coach is absolutely fantastic. In fact, I think that we’ve been blessed personally with a few good coaches in the years here in Lexington. And I've never had a problem with any club because of the typical stuff -- playing time, money, too much travel, etc. So I guess I'm not the typical disgruntled parent -- I'm more of an interested observer trying to figure out how to replicate what my daughter has been fortunate enough to find for all of the girls in this area.