Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#176916 08/04/19 11:45 PM
Goal
OP Offline
Goal
Is there a better way to do club scheduling besides what we had to endure today? They mentioned today that they are going to try to do it online but is that possible? It would be hard to schedule around the "I'm a college coach too and can only play on Sundays" or the "This is my 4th team and I'm only playing one game a day" coaches.

C
Bench
Bench
C
My one and only time doing it for Coastal League was about 5 years ago or so and it was just awful so sounds like it hasn't changed. I'm sure if you do it year in and year out you get the hang of it and work the system. I also think they did Coastal as an online a couple years back and heard it was no better.

Unless you can work it into set weekends of play for every team at a particular location I don't think it will ever improve. Even then you'll have coaching conflicts, but at least then it is just what time of that particular day conflicts.

Goal
Goal
With coaches being allowed to coach 3+ teams and enter an excessive amount of tournaments, then no.

And that would only be the first of many fixes that need to occur

World Cup
World Cup
Oh, undoubtedly, I have been the biggest critic of this extremely archaic system. You might as well play Pin the Tail on the Donkey while you are there. In fact, while the D License was being held in Columbia, SCYS should have strolled those participants over to the Scheduling Meeting as an indoctrination of club soccer in S.C.

Why, in 2019, do we require folks from Gaffney, Walhalla, Due West, Savannah, or Myrtle Beach to convene in the Capital City for 90 minutes to put together a schedule that could be done in 15 minutes via a Google Docs spreadsheet and email? Or better yet, how about SCYS coming off the hip and purchasing a simple scheduling software to coordinate these efforts?