Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#112231 01/14/09 07:24 PM
S
bench
OP Offline
bench
S
I have a question. Last fall, we had a parent on our team who was yelling to his daughter to slide tackle a player. As in "DAUGHTER'S NAME, slide tackle her" He did this repeatedly throughout the whole tournamanet.

These are girls in the U13 to U14 range, playing PMSL.

Personally, I thought he was out of line. I don't think slide tackles at this level and age are appropriate...and I certainly did not think it appropriate for a parent to be yelling for her to do this. I've seen a player get seriously injured by a 'come from behind' two-footed slide tackle.

The father claimed I didn't understand soccer, even though I've had over 5 years experience in travel soccer (another child that played, not the one on this team) to his two years of experience.

What do you veteran's (nice way of saying old timers) think about slide tackles by younger players.

H
goal
goal
H
I have to disagree with you. They're a legitimate part of the game and should be allowed (certainly by 13 yoa). I agree that they can be dangerous, but no more so than a bad tackle or block in football, or a bad foul in basketball. They should be taught properly, of course. I think there are too many fouls called on good, old-fashioned shoulder charges too. Soccer is a contact sport.

corner kick
corner kick
I know we definitely had the clean slide tackles occurring when I played U13/U14, but then that was back when everyone still played 11v11 and it was Challenge ball. But I think that there's a definite distinction between clean slides and playing dirty or being dangerous. On defense, I'd often make that last ditch slide to reach the long ball and knock it out before the wing or forward could get to it...all ball, the other player was a good step or two back.