Next Thread
Print Thread
#11120 04/08/03 01:50 PM
G
goal kick
OP Offline
goal kick
G
I have heard that a high school principal has put into effect a rule that if anyone gets a red card he (I guess she too) is automaticaly off the team regardless Varsity or JV. Any thoughts on this?
I know of one JV player that is gone.

#11121 04/08/03 02:07 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
As a coach, I would have to say that a blanket rule like that will not work. It sounds like a policy made up by someone who doesn't know anything about soccer, in particular about how inconsistent reffing is. I've seen kids get red carded on Wednesday for stuff that was OK on Monday. Connect it to other sports. Can you imagine tossing a player off a basketbball team if he was double teched? If he was a college prospect? I don't know what high school we're talking about, but that's a bad idea.

#11122 04/08/03 02:15 PM
World Cup
World Cup
Good response Coach Brown. A red card carries such a stigma of "bad notions" -- something you don't associate with a 15-yard "Personal Foul" in football or a "Flagrant Foul" in basketball that results in two free throws and automatic possession of the basketball.

Sounds to me like someone needs to enlighten this "Principal" about soccer -- rules and etiquette. If a red card is issued to a player that pulls down an opponent on a break-away -- that's part of the game (and no punishment should be warranted off the pitch).

However, if the red card is issued because of foul language or poor sportsmanship, then that problem needs to be addressed by the coach, parent(s), and school administrators. I witnessed a match in Columbia recently that left me in disbelief of how a player was not red carded because of his/her foul mouth and blatant disrespect of an official. Even more amazing was the nonchalant attitude of his/her coaches after coming off the field. That left me shaking my head!

#11123 04/08/03 03:07 PM
G
goal kick
OP Offline
goal kick
G