Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 4 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
S
bench
bench
S
I couldn't disagree more. A team should never be asked or expected to play to anything other then their potential. In a blowout, I really believe it's an opportunity to empty the bench and allow some of those players that have to work so hard in practice but receive limited PT. You can't ask them to go in and 'take it easy'. Sports are competitive and there is no life lesson in playing against someone that isn't trying. It's degrading, IMO.

As a coach I would use those games as an opportunity to give some players experience in other positions b/c you never know when an injury will change the make up of your entire team. I would never, however, ask my players to stop playing with anything less then their best effort.

kick off
OP Offline
kick off
If you only start 8 or 9 players though doesn't you send the message that you don't even think your opponent is worthy enough to play your full side?

goal kick
goal kick
exactly what I was thinking Phenomenon

J
goal kick
goal kick
J
I have to agree with Coach J about reserves wanting to take rare advantage of scoring opportunities. Another point needs to be made. In last year's North Charleston - Bluffton match I tried just about everything to keep the match from getting to out of hand and was still unsuccessful. I played 7 players to N.C.'s 8. We worked on possession, everybody having to touch the ball multiple times, scoring in certain situations. I even tried to get the refs to put an end to the game. The bottom line, North Charleston gave up and did not put up any fight after the first few minutes of the game. It was an ugly affair and I actually had to put my starters back in because we all agreed this was too much and they tried to hold back until the refs finally called the game.