Next Thread
Print Thread
P
PHPPPF Offline OP
kick off
OP Offline
kick off
P
It seems to me that there has been quite a bit of discussion about fighting on the boards lately. Now I know that this is not nearly as bad as brawling on the field has been in past years, but I still thinks it marrs our game.

I realize that we are involved in a game of heightened passion and emotion, and that we are all prone to going over the top on occaison - I was thrown out of a few games as a younger man for pushing and shoving matches - but should we consider looking at long-term suspensions for throwing punches or maliciously violent/vulgar action on the field directed toward any entity?

Goal Kick
Goal Kick
Don't let Jim Rome read this thread, he'll let you know how he feels about it...and Ronaldo's ....

Maradona good, Pele better, George Best.
P
PHPPPF Offline OP
kick off
OP Offline
kick off
P
I guess I gear it toward soccer because it's the sport I coach, but as a teacher, I find it degrading to the school- and it applies to ANY sport. When kids get out of control (and I know that kids are not coached this way; they are simply ignoring the discipline taught to them) they need to be punished. Now I'm not sure that means playoff suspension (a la Northwestern football in 2002), but is there something to be done?

L
Corner Kick
Corner Kick
L
Quote:

should we consider looking at long-term suspensions for throwing punches or maliciously violent/vulgar action on the field directed toward any entity?

Yes, long-term suspensions, AT LEAST, are definitely in order for first time offenses (punches thrown and maliciously violent behavior). On 2nd offense, permanent removal from high-school sports. It's not fair to the other players on the field to have to compete in fear of being intentionally injured.

goal kick
goal kick