Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
P
PHPPPF Offline OP
kick off
OP Offline
kick off
P
There's a lot of talk about who the prohibitive favorites of any given season are: the Mauldins, BCs, Wandos, Clovers, Ft. Mills, etc. etc. (and I apologize for anyone I've left out. It's only eight in the morning) of the world. These gals all have a tough task in front of them because they know they always get everyone's best shot, always get the creative coaching from opponents and always have the added weight of high expectations.

My question, though, has to do with the opposite direction: What are the teams that will be excellent but fly under the radar and shock some folks in the playoffs? I know that Robles does a great job with the girls at Northwestern, but since I'm coaching in my own little bubble, I have little knowledge about the rest of the state.

In short, who are the potential surprise teams this spring, and why are they going to be so good?

world cup
world cup
I think, over the next couple of years, Barnwell will be a Final Four team in 2A.

Kids play sports because they find it fun. Eliminate the fun and soon you eliminate the kid.
C
Brace
Brace
C
In 4A--I think North Augusta and West Florence are 2 teams loaded with talent but don't get the recognition of some of the bigger schools. N.A. should be a senior loaded team full of experienced club players. W.F. was young a couple of years ago but showed a lot of young talent. Nation Ford is another team to watch at the 4A level.

From 3A, South Aiken, Swansea, and AC Flora. Swansea proved it could be very competitive against some very good teams last year. A lot of their kids are playing club ball at the challenge level. AC Flora has some good talent and with stable coaching I think they could be a team on the rise. South Aiken--despite losing 2 seniors last year they are a very talented team. Look for them to bust onto the 3A scene this year despite their coach(just kidding Dale).