Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
World Cup
OP Offline
World Cup
2/9/12

Veteran boys high school soccer coach Frank Ridlehoover highlighted by the NSCAA's bimonthly column, "Ask the Coach"

Believe me when I say that "Uncle Frank" is one of the most beloved pioneers of prep soccer in the Palmetto State! Thanks for everything Coach Ridlehoover!

A
Goal
Goal
A
A more genuine "In it for the kids" coach you will be hard pressed to find. I keep thinking about his team banquet last year and his players response.
Sincere Congrats! Anthony

Corner Kick
Corner Kick
Anthony, Kyle Very Ture
Congrats all around, I am glad I to be a friend

Scott D. Ruggles
Stratford High School
World Cup
Online Content
World Cup
Every other week, we choose a winner from entries in our "I'm a Coach Because..." campaign. Our first winner is Frank Ridlehoover.

Coach Frank Ridlehoover expresses his motive to coach with simple words.

"I'm a coach because I love the game and love to see the kids develop and grow as individuals."

What intrigues us is his simple love and passion for coaching youth soccer since the 1970s. His forty year coaching career documents his growth from a rookie to a veteran soccer coach.

In 1970, back from Vietnam and living in South Carolina, Frank Ridlehoover had to face another challenge – coaching a soccer team. At Eastside High School in Greenville, SC where he taught science and biology, students approached him about starting a soccer team. Coach Ridlehoover accepted the challenge, even though no one had ever played soccer and he had no coaching experience.