Print Thread
#43077 05/05/03 01:17 AM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
Can a coach teach his or her team to be dedicated? I have always believed that deducation is something that can only be self taught. I'm not a coach but I've wondered what a coach could do to build dedication that is not there.

#43078 05/05/03 02:09 AM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
LW08-
Dedication may be one of the hardest things to teach. A coach can explain drills, runs, even a good diet, but teaching dedication to the game would be like teaching an emotion, which cannot be taught, only experienced. Being a player, personally I feel great dedication towards the game, soccer is included in my everyday life and there's not a day when I do not think about the next game or the next practice. Emotion towards the game is the sign of a dedicated player, and is one of the best attributes a player can have. To sum things up, I do not feel that dedication can fully be taught by a coach, but merely hinted towards, the rest is up to the idividual.

#43079 05/05/03 04:04 AM
L
hat-trick
hat-trick
L
lw8 --

As an aging former athlete, I think the best coaches can inspire an athlete to dedicate him or herself to a sport and to making themselves a better, more focused person. Dedication cannot, however, be force fed. The best coaches bring out the best in players and make them even better. I had a coach like that a long time ago and the work ethic he helped me develop is imporant to me every day of my life. Coaches take note: What you do matters far beyond your face to face contact with the players.

lpaf

#43080 05/07/03 01:07 AM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A